Men, Women and Money 3 (Throwback series)

So I was talking to a slender, dark skinned beauty, whose headscarf was tied in the fashion of the “Deeper” sisters. She had a homey allure in her striped shirt and flared skirt. She had already told me that she would never, under any circumstance abandon her husband and children for a wealthy man. Careful not to offend her, I asked, “what if you were dating a poor young man and you got propositioned by an extremely wealthy man?”

“That’s Aristo!” she exclaimed, laughing. “I would never dump my boyfriend because of Aristo.”
This lady was turning out to be a saint. A mild mannered and good-natured one at that. I liked her.

Jokingly I asked, “Why not? Don’t you fix Brazilian hair or drive an SUV?”
Now looking serious she said, “I don’t drive an SUV or fix human hair but I hope to.”
Then she looked around as if afraid of being overheard and started speaking in low tones. “I would date both of them at the same time.”

Swallowing painfully I ask, “how?”

“It is really simple. Some of these men are probably even married and don’t care that you have a boyfriend. They’ll still take care of you as long as you are taking care of them.”

“Why?” I asked.

She looked at me as if I was the daftest thing to walk the face of the earth before replying.

“I don’t want to suffer. My mother suffered in my father’s house before she passed away. No money, we were very poor. God forbid that I should go through the same thing.”

I wasn’t going to stress my brain trying to process this one so I offered my sympathies and asked, “what if your boyfriend finds out?”

“Young guys like money. As long as “the chief” is giving me good money and I am spending it on him as well, he might grumble initially but with time he will accept it.”

“Errr…you sound as if you’ve done this before. Have you?”

Now obviously disgusted by my ignorance, she managed a “No Comment” before walking off.

I sat on a bench to gather my thoughts. Firstly, I would ditch the attempt to judge my interviewees by appearance, then I would have to find answers to the questions the lady had raised. Are guys slaves to money? Ludicrous! In my opinion, if a guy can stand the thought of another man touching his girl, he doesn’t love her at all. Or was I mistaken? Is it all about money now? Does the need for cash excuse anything? Would a guy keep on dating his girl if he found out she had been sleeping with another man for money? I was more confused than when I had started out. Someone, please help clear my confusion?

The quest continues…

Love,

Brownie

This series was first published in 2013.

Copyright 2021 Owolabi Deborah

Leave a comment